India has taken over the Presidency of the G20 for one year from 01 December 2022 to 30 November 2023. The G20, or Group of Twenty, is an intergovernmental forum of the world’s major developed and developing economies. It comprises of 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, UK, USA) and the European Union (EU). Collectively, the G20 accounts for 85% of global GDP, 75% of international trade and two-thirds of the world population, making it the premier forum for international economic cooperation.

During India’s presidency of G20, the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) is running a campaign titled ‘Stay Safe Online’ aimed at creating awareness among citizens including specially-abled persons to stay safe in an online world on the widespread use of social media platforms and rapid adoption of digital payments. As India is making significant efforts towards becoming a trillion-dollar digital economy, the campaign focuses on sensitizing users of all ages about online risk & safety measures and promoting cyber hygiene thereby reinforcing the cyber safety of citizens.

Citizens of all age groups, covering rural and urban areas, with special emphasis on children, students, women, teachers, faculty, senior citizens, specially-abled persons, officials of Central & State Governments etc. are invited to participate in the Stay Safe Online campaign.